Tannhäuser (Richard Wagner)

Opera in 3 acts (Paris Version, 1861)
Live at the
Festspielhaus Baden-Baden
A production of Monarda Arts/RM Arts in collaboration with Arthaus Musik and Poorhouse International


After Nikolaus Lehnhoff’s great success with Parsifal, Lohengrin and Tristan und Isolde this is his highly acclaimed Tannhäuser coproduced with De Nederlandse Opera and Festspielhaus Baden-Baden. Nikolaus Lehnhoff’s production is based on the Paris version by Richard Wagner with an extended Venusberg scene and a ballet very surprisingly choreographed by Amir Hosseinpour and Jonathan Lunn. The minimalist staging and Raimund Bauer’s ingenious sets make this a Tannhäuser for our time. The cast as always with Lehnhoff has nothing to match these days. An extra feature entitled “Tannhäuser – The Revolutionary” includes interviews with stage director, conductor and cast as well as backstage material.

Available at Arthaus Musik (DVD and Blu ray)



Producer: Torsten Bönnhoff, Erwin Stürzer
Executive Producer: Patrick Buttmann
Directed for Screen by: Patrick Buttmann
Cameras: Mark Förster, Christian Hartmann, Silvia Hoffmann, Atul Jain, Alex Telaar
Sound: Leonardo Ruschin, Martin Link
Editor: Patrick Buttmann
Postproduction: Digital Images GmbH
Language: German
Subtitles: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian
Running Time: 205 min
Picture Format: 16:9
Year of production: 2008


Creative Team


Composer: Richard Wagner
Libretto: Richard Wagner
Conductor: Philippe Jordan
Director: Nikolaus Lehnhoff
Set Design: Raimund Bauer
Costume Design: Andrea Schmidt-Futterer
Light: Duane Schuler
Ballet Choreography: Amir Hosseinpour, Jonathan Lunn
Chorus Master: Walter Zeh
Dramaturgy: Klaus Bertisch, Wolfgang Willaschek
Orchestra: Deutsches Symphonieorchester Berlin
Choir: Philharmonia Chor Wien

Tannhäuser: Robert Gambill
Elisabeth: Camilla Nylund
Wolfram von Eschenbach: Roman Trekel
Venus: Waltraud Meier
Hermann, Landgraf von Thüringen: Stephen Milling