Overture 1912 – Deutsche Oper Berlin


A documentary by Enrique Sánchez Lansch
A Monarda Arts production in collaboration with RBB und Arthaus Musik


 

In 2012 the Deutsche Oper in Berlin celebrates its 100th birthday. Although the building of today’s appearance was not opened until 1961, the history of the house at the Bismarckstrasse goes way further back: it was built in 1912 under the name “Deutsches Opernhaus” on an initiative of the citizens of Berlin – Charlottenburg in contrast to the royal opera house, which is today the State Opera “Unter den Linden”.

The film imparts all facets of the different Epochs of the Berlin opera institution from the beginnings until today. Therefore artist get the chance to speak, whose biographies are closely connected with the Deutsche Oper Berlin: Christa Ludwig, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Götz Friedrich, Hans Neuenfels, Donald Runnicles, René Kollo, Karen Armstrong and many more. The changes and the constants in history of the opera house will be illustrated by a wide choice of existing film material. The Film also encloses the last interview with the opera singer Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau.

 

Available at Arthaus Musik (DVD)

Production

 

Producer: Torsten Bönnhoff, Erwin Stürzer
Directed for Screen by: Enrique Sánchez Lansch
Assistant Director: Dayala Lang
Production Manager: Eva Kohlweyer, Marita Stocker
Camera: Michael Boomers, Isabelle Casez
Sound: Jan Wichers, Andreas Köppen
Editor: Sylvia Krüger
Postproduction: Digital Images GmbH
Language: German
Subtitles: English, French
Running Time: 89 min
Picture Format: 16:9
Year of production: 2012

Featuring Karan Armstrong, Götz Friedrich, Josef Greindl, René Kollo, Jesús López Cobos, Christa Ludwig, Barry McDaniel, Hans Neuenfels, Aribert Reimann, Curt A. Roesler, Donald Runnicles, Dietmar Schwarz, Peter Sykora, Júlia Várady, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau and many more

Overture 1912 – Deutsche Oper Berlin


Ein Dokumentarfilm von Enrique Sánchez Lansch
Eine Monarda Arts Produktion in Zusammenarbeit mit dem RBB und Arthaus Musik


 

2012 feierte die Deutsche Oper Berlin ihren 100. Geburtstag. Zwar ist der heutige Bau erst 1961 eröffnet worden, aber die Geschichte des Hauses an der Bismarckstraße reicht viel weiter zurück: 1912 war es hier auf Initiative von Bürgern aus Berlin-Charlottenburg als Gegenentwurf zur Königlichen Hofoper, der heutigen Staatsoper Unter den Linden, unter dem Namen „Deutsches Opernhaus“ erbaut worden.

Der Film vermittelt Facetten der verschiedenen Epochen dieser Berliner Operninstitution von den Anfängen bis heute. Dabei kommen Künstler zu Wort, deren Biographie eng mit der Deutschen Oper Berlin verwoben ist: Christa Ludwig, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Götz Friedrich, Hans Neuenfels, Donald Runnicles, René Kollo, Karen Armstrong und viele andere. Illustriert werden die Wechselfälle und die Konstanten in der Geschichte des Hauses durch das reichlich vorhandene filmische Archivmaterial. Der Film enthält das letzte Interview mit dem Opernsänger Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau.

 

 

Erhältlich bei Arthaus Musik (DVD)

Produktion

 

Produzent: Torsten Bönnhoff, Erwin Stürzer
Regie: Enrique Sánchez Lansch
Regieassistenz: Dayala Lang
Produktionsleitung: Eva Kohlweyer, Marita Stocker
Kamera: Michael Boomers, Isabelle Casez
Ton: Jan Wichers, Andreas Köppen
Schnitt: Sylvia Krüger
Postproduktion: Digital Images GmbH
Sprache: Deutsch
Untertitel: Englisch, Französisch
Laufzeit: 89 Min
Bildformat: 16:9
Produktionsjahr: 2012

Featuring Karan Armstrong, Götz Friedrich, Josef Greindl, René Kollo, Jesús López Cobos, Christa Ludwig, Barry McDaniel, Hans Neuenfels, Aribert Reimann, Curt A. Roesler, Donald Runnicles, Dietmar Schwarz, Peter Sykora, Júlia Várady, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau uvm.