Concert

Gender Stories

Gender Stories

Gender Stories Festive concert with Vivica Genaux and Lawrence Zazzo In Italian opera, castratos were regarded as something perfectly normal.They originally sang the female parts, but from the 1630s at the latest they took on more and more male roles. So what about the female singers? They sang both female and male parts. And if the opera role required that a woman should search for her beloved or relation disguised as a man, the criss-crossing gender game was complete. Baroque theatre audiences found these gender stories hilarious. With the 2017 Handel Prize winner, the magnificent...

Read More

„Apollo e Dafne“ des Ensembles: Il Suonar Parlante

„Apollo e Dafne“ des Ensembles: Il Suonar Parlante

„Apollo e Dafne“ des Ensembles: Il Suonar Parlante The #MeToo debate could have raged back in antiquity – take the story of Apollo and Daphne, for instance. Apollo harasses the nymph so much that Daphne prefers to die than be dishonoured by him. Handel began setting this opera-like cantata to music when he was still in Italy. It was premiered in London in the presence of Queen Anne, who was so delighted she expressed the wish to see Handel more often in her retinue. We are delighted that the superb soprano Anna Prohaska will once again featruing in the „retinue“oft he Handel Festival. She...

Read More

„Il Pianto d’Arianna“ des Ensembles: Les Passions de l‘Ame

„Il Pianto d’Arianna“ des Ensembles: Les Passions de l‘Ame

„Il Pianto d’Arianna“ des Ensembles: Les Passions de l‘Ame (ARTE Concert broadcasted on 02.06.2019) The operatic persona of Arianna is characterised by a great propensity to sobbing and lamenting. Her grief has many fascinating facets. The thread running through this concert is made up of arias from Handel’s Arianna in Creta and in this context, Monteverdi’s Lamento d’Arianna could be considered tob e the ur-lamento. The musical expression of lonely grief pierces the soul. And in Locatelli’s concerto grosso; Pianto d’Arianna, a disconsoloate solo violin sobs, lamenting, cursing and...

Read More

„Im Labyrinth der Geschlechter“

„Im Labyrinth der Geschlechter“

„Im Labyrinth der Geschlechter – Frauenfiguren der Händel-Zeit“ (ARTE TV broadcasted on 18.11.19) In the baroque opera the women roles were characterised by sensitivity, courage and virtue. At the same time gender roles were playfully transcended in opera. Women sang male and female roles, castratos as well. Three stars of the early music – Vivica Genaux, Anna Prohaska and Hana Blazikiva – interprets arias and duets at the Handel Festival 2019 and slip into big women’s roles such as the Arianna and the Dafne. Star countertenor Lawrence Zazzo and the baritone Fulvio Bettini were at...

Read More

Luther – An Oratorio

Luther – An Oratorio

Luther – An Oratorio World premiere recording from the Georg-Friedrich-Händel-Halle in October 2017 On the occasion of the 500th anniversary of the Reformation in 2017 the internationally acclaimed composer of contemporary music Oscar Strasnoy and Christoph Hein, one of the most important German authors, have been commissioned to create an oratorio dedicated to the life and work of Martin Luther. For the rst time the focus lies on Luther in such a large-scale work for orchestra, choir and soloists. It’s a critical view of the person Luther, in which each role of the soloists is...

Read More

Manfred (Robert Schumann)

Manfred (Robert Schumann)

A dramatic poem in three parts by Lord Byron, op. 115

Live from the Tonhalle Düsseldorf

A production of Monarda Arts in coproduction with ZDFkultur, in cooperation with Arthaus Musik

Read More

Kindertotenlieder (Gustav Mahler) – 7. Symphony Concert Dresden

Kindertotenlieder (Gustav Mahler) – 7. Symphony Concert Dresden

Live at the Semperoper, Dresden

An Arthaus Musik production, in collaboration with MDR/Arte and Monarda Arts

Read More

Homage to Robert Schumann

Homage to Robert Schumann

Live at the Frauenkirche, Dresden

A Monarda Arts production, in collaboration with MDR and Arte

Read More

Michael Nyman in Concert – The Musicologist Scores

Michael Nyman in Concert – The Musicologist Scores

Live at Studio Halle

A Monarda Arts production, co-produced by Arthaus Musik and WDR/Arte

Supported by the Central German Film Commission (MDM) and the Arts Foundation of Saxony-Anhalt

Read More

Kiri Te Kanawa – The Concert

Kiri Te Kanawa – The Concert

Live from Trentham Park, Wellington and The Royal Naval College, Greenwich

A Production of London Weekend Television in association with Monarda Arts / RM Arts

Read More

Konzert

Gender Stories

Gender Stories

Gender Stories Festkonzert mit Vivica Genaux und Lawrence Zazzo Kastraten wurden in der italienischen Oper als etwas Normales angesehen. Zunächst sangen sie weibliche Partien, aber spätestens seit den 1630er Jahren übernahmen sie mehr und mehr auch Männerrollen. Und die Sängerinnen? Sie sangen sowohl weibliche als auch männliche Partien. Und wenn es die Opernrolle erforderte, dass sich eine Frau als Mann verkleidet auf die Suche nach ihrem Geliebten oder Angehörigen begab, dann war das Vexierspiel der Geschlechter komplett. Das barocke Theaterpublikum hatte einen Mordsspaß an diesen...

Mehr

„Apollo e Dafne“ des Ensembles: Il Suonar Parlante

„Apollo e Dafne“ des Ensembles: Il Suonar Parlante

„Apollo e Dafne“ des Ensembles: Il Suonar Parlante Die Metoo-Debatte hätte man schon in der Antike führen können, zum Beispiel im Rahmen der Geschichte von Apollo und Dafne: Apollo bedrängt die Nymphe so sehr, dass Dafne lieber sterben möchte, als von ihm entehrt zu werden. Mit der Vertonung dieser opernhaften Kantate begann Händel noch in Italien. Ihre erste Aufführung erlebte sie in London in Anwesenheit von Königin Anne, die vor Begeisterung den Wunsch äußerte, Händel möge häufiger in ihrem Gefolge zu sehen sein. Wir freuen uns, dass die großartige Sopranistin Anna Prohaska wieder „im...

Mehr

„Il Pianto d’Arianna“ des Ensembles: Les Passions de l‘Ame

„Il Pianto d’Arianna“ des Ensembles: Les Passions de l‘Ame

„Il Pianto d’Arianna“ des Ensembles: Les Passions de l‘Ame (ARTE Concert ausgestrahlt am 02.06.2019) Mit großer Hingabe zum Schluchzen und zum Lamentieren sind die Merkmale der Arianna auf der Opernbühne. Die Facetten ihrer Trauer sind mannigfaltig und faszinierend. Im Konzert bilden die Arien aus Händels „Arianna in Creta“ den roten (Arianna-)Faden, wobei man als Ur-Lamento Monteverdis „Lamento d’Arianna“ bezeichnen könnte: Durch Mark und Bein dringt der musikalische Ausdruck einsamer Trauer. Und in Locatellis Concerto grosso „Pianto d’Arianna“ schluchzt eine himmeltraurige Sologeige und...

Mehr

„Im Labyrinth der Geschlechter“

„Im Labyrinth der Geschlechter“

„Im Labyrinth der Geschlechter – Frauenfiguren der Händel-Zeit“ (ARTE TV ausgestrahlt am 18.11.19) In der barocken Oper wurden den Frauenfiguren Empfindsamkeit, Mut und Tugendhaftigkeit zugeschrieben. Zugleich wurden im Opernbetrieb die Geschlechterrollen spielerisch transzendiert. Frauen sangen Männer- und Frauenrollen, Kastraten ebenso. Drei Opernstars – Vivica Genaux, Anna Prohaska und Hana Blaziková – interpretieren bei den Händel-Festspielen 2019 bekannte Barockwerke. Empfindsam, heroisch, erhaben – das sind die Frauenbilder der Barockoper, so heißt es im Programm der...

Mehr

Luther – Ein Oratorium

Luther – Ein Oratorium

Luther – Ein Oratorium Weltpremiere in der Georg-Friedrich-Händel-Halle im Oktober 2017 Anlässlich des Reformationsjubiläums im Jahr 2017 wurden der international gefragte Komponist für Neue Musik Oscar Strasnoy und Christoph Hein, einer der bedeutendsten deutschsprachigen Schriftsteller unserer Zeit, damit beauftragt, ein Oratorium, welches sich dem Leben und Wirken von Martin Luther widmet, zu erschaffen. Zum ersten Mal steht Martin Luther im Fokus eines großangelegten Werkes für Orchester, Chor und Solisten. Das Oratorium wirft einen kritischen Blick auf die Person, deren...

Mehr

Manfred (Robert Schumann)

Manfred (Robert Schumann)

Ein dramatisches Gedicht in drei Teilen, nach einem Gedicht von Lord Byron, op. 115

Live aus der Tonhalle Düsseldorf

Eine Monarda Arts Produktion, in co-produziert von ZDFKultur in Zusammenarbeit mit Arthaus Musik

Mehr

Kindertotenlieder (Gustav Mahler) – 7. Sinfoniekonzert Dresden

Kindertotenlieder (Gustav Mahler) – 7. Sinfoniekonzert Dresden

Livemitschnitt aus der Semperoper, Dresden

Eine Produktion von Arthaus Musik in Zusammenarbeit mit dem MDR/Arte und Monarda Arts

Mehr

Homage to Robert Schumann

Homage to Robert Schumann

Live aus der Frauenkirche Dresden

Eine Produktion von Monarda Arts, co-produziert vom MDR in Zusammenarbeit mit Arte

Mehr

Michael Nyman in Concert – The Musicologist Scores

Michael Nyman in Concert – The Musicologist Scores

Livemitschnitt aus dem Studio Halle

Eine Monarda Arts Produktion, co-produziert von Arthaus Musik und WDR/Arte

Gefördert durch die Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM) und der Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt

Mehr

Kiri Te Kanawa – The Concert

Kiri Te Kanawa – The Concert

Livemitschnitte aus Trentham Park, Wellington und The Royal Naval College, Greenwich

Ein Produktion von London Weekend Television in Zusammenarbeit mit Monarda Arts / RM Arts

Mehr