Homage to Robert Schumann

Live at the Frauenkirche, Dresden
A Monarda Arts production, in collaboration with MDR and Arte


Between 1844 and 1859 Robert Schumann lived in Dresden where he composed a third of his complete work. The concert marks the 200th anniversary of Robert Schumann‘s birth and offers a welcome opportunity for Daniel Harding and the Staatskapelle Dresden to introduce three of the most impressive but now too rarely performed works from his Dresden period (“Overture to Genoveva”, “Requiem für Mignon” and “Nachtlied”). Particular highlights – which will come as a surprise even to connoisseurs of his works – are a first performance and a world premiere of rediscovered and reconstructed symphonic movements dating from the composer‘s legendary „symphony year“ of 1841. Moreover, the “Rhenish Symphony”, composed by Schumann after leaving Dresden and widely influenced by his impressions of the Cologne Cathedral, blends in perfectly with the sacral architecture of the Frauenkirche.


Including the following works of Robert Schumann:

  • Overture to the Opera “Genoveva”
  • “Scherzo in g-minor” from the Symphony Fragment in c minor
  • “Abendmusik in B flat major” (World premiere) – Reconstructed by Joachim Draheim
  • “Nachtlied” by Friedrich Hebbel for Choir and Orchestra
  • “Requiem für Mignon” from Goethe’s “Wilhelm Meister” for Choir, Solo Voices and Orchestra
  • Symphony No. 3 in E flat major “Rhenish”


Available at Arthaus Musik (DVD and Blu ray)



Producer: Torsten Bönnhoff, Erwin Stürzer
Executive Producer: Oliver Becker
Directed for Screen by: Ute Feudel
Assistant Director: Annegret Feudel
Unit Manager: Verena Schupp, Sandra Peuthert, Frank Bartuschat
Production Manager: Eckhard Grosch
Cameras: Ulrich Marquardt, Maik Behres, Alexander Decker, Ulrich Faber, Winfried Herrmann, Steffen Kiessling, Christina Kirchner, Gabi Klerke, Ines Thomsen
Sound: Klaus Mücke, Matthias Sachers, Torsten Streithof
Editor: Sandra Sommerfeld, Mario Becker
Postproduction: Digital Images GmbH
Running Time: 77 min
Picture Format: 16:9
Year of production: 2010


Creative Team


Composer: Robert Schumann
Conductor: Daniel Harding
Orchestra: Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden
Choir: MDR Rundfunkchor
Baritone: Markus Butter
Solists of the Dresdner Kreuzchor: Ole Kottner, Franz Lindner, Sebastian Dominik Pfeifer, Vincent Hoppe